I have asked my mother to tell me about the similarities and differences she sees in me, her and my grandmother. I have learnt a lot about three of us from what she told me. When I have matched mother’s comments to the photos of our ways of life I have suddenly realised that my project turned into a search for similarities and differences, and that it is not so much about the answer, but about the search itself.

It is hard to say now why I have chosen to photographically present the story about my grandmother, mother and myself. I live away from my family and despite of our regular and warm communication, at some point I stopped feeling the connection with them. I started noticing that my life is quite different from the ones of my mother and grandmother. But then I remembered that there is at least one thing we have in common: all three of us left our parent’s home at about the same age.

My grandmother lives in the remote village that my mother left for a new life in the city. My mother lives in the small city that I left for a different life in the big city. Both my mother’s and grandmother’s husbands passed away untimely and their children grew up and left.

Most of us have fears of repeating the life of our parents. We don’t want to be like them. I felt some sort of an excitement when I saw how much my mother and grandmother have in common. Then I got really interested in how honest I can be with myself when I compare my life to theirs…

Since this project turned out to be very personal it became hard for me to have a logical analysis over the photographed material. For this reason I asked other people to give me a feedback on what they see in this work:

You are everywhere there. It looks like you looking for your own traits in those people — in your mother and grandmother — to be exact, you are looking for what actually connects you all. Also I see the story of life repeating itself. The lives of three women in one family are similar and you all have a lot in common.

© Ilya

Me: Are you afraid to be like mum?
Sister: I guess, I am. I started noticing that I act like mum sometimes, and it scared me. But then I realised that we are family and it is just inevitable. We are different at some things and similar at others — and it is normal.

This is about you through the prism of our family history.

© Mother

I enjoy looking at these photographs. Just like you, I have a strong emotional connection with each picture. I saw all that many times and it is still very interesting. These photos give me a chance to take a detached view: to look at things with stranger’s eyes.

© Sister

Me: Here is the auto portrait and plates

Yana (tutor): Good. Otherwise there was not much of you.

Me: There is a lot of me. This is all me.

Yana (tutor): Yes, yes. But only you and I know about it.

© Yana Romanova (tutor)

« МАТРЕШКИ »

 Я попросила маму ответить на вопрос о том, чем, по ее мнению, я похожа на нее и бабушку, а чем — нет. Из ее рассказа я узнала много нового о нас троих. Когда я приставила мамины комментарии к фотографиям нашего быта, то поняла, что история превратилась в поиск «похожи-непохожи», где важен не столько ответ, сколько сам поиск.

Сейчас уже сложно сказать, почему мне пришла в голову идея снять историю про бабушку, маму и меня. Я живу отдельно от всей семьи и в какой-то момент перестала ощущать связь с родными, не смотря на то, что мы регулярно и тепло общаемся. Я стала замечать, что в моей жизни мало похожего как на жизнь мамы, так и на жизнь бабушки. Но тут мне вспомнилось о том, что похожими нас делает как минимум то, что все трое оставили отчий дом примерно в одном возрасте.

Бабушка живет в глухой деревне, откуда мама уехала жить другой жизнью в город. Мама живет в маленьком городе, откуда уехала я жить другой жизнью в большой город. И мама и бабушка похоронили своих мужей, а дети выросли и уехали.

Большинство из нас боится повторить судьбу своих родителей. Мы не хотим быть как они. Я почувствовала что-то вроде азарта, когда увидела так много похожего между мамой и бабушкой. И мне стало интересно, насколько честной с самой собой я могу быть, когда речь пойдет обо мне…

Так как проект получился очень личным, мне стало сложно подвергать логическому анализу отснятый материал. Поэтому я спросила у других людей о том, что они здесь видят:

Ну, там везде ты. Кажется, что ты словно ищешь в этих людях — своих близких, черты себя, или, точнее, то, что вас по-настоящему связывает. Еще я увидел историю про повторение жизни. Жизнь трех женщин одной семьи похожа и вы похожи.

© Илья

Я: Ты боишься быть похожей на маму?

Сестра: Да, есть такой страх. Я начала замечать сходство с мамой в каких-то мелочах, и мне стало страшно.

Но потом пришло осознание того, что мы — семья и ничего с этим не поделаешь.

В чем-то мы индивидуальны, в чем-то похожи и это нормально.

Это о тебе через призму истории нашей семьи.

© Мама

Мне интересно рассматривать эти фотографии. У меня, как и у тебя, глубокая эмоциональная связь с каждым снимком.

Я все видела много раз, но, не смотря на это, мне интересно. Фотография дает мне возможность посмотреть со стороны: я смотрю глазами незнакомца.

© Сестра

— Я: Автопортрет и тарелки

— Яна (куратор) : Да. А то тебя-то совсем нет

— Я: Меня очень много. Это всё — я.

— Яна: Ну да, ну да. Но об этом знаем мы с тобой.